History of faculty

September 1, 1938 at the Institute opened the Faculty of History. In the first academic year 1938-39 was made of 75 students, 25 of them at the college, and 50 people in the Teacher Training Institute. Faculty headed A.A.Korolevsky.

During the Great Patriotic War, the number of students in the History Department was significantly reduced, as well as in other departments, enrollment of students in the teacher's institute suspended for several years. The majority of male students, as well as a significant part of the students- girls voluntarily joined the Soviet Army and fought heroically at the fronts of the war. Students E.M.Pavlychev, KN Malygin and others. Died a heroic death in the battle of Stalingrad. Of female students fought in the Great Patriotic War LE Kashin G.A.Iskakova, VF Gorshkov, I.A.Makatova and others.

Together with the students during the war went to the front of the historical faculty of the majority of teachers. Teacher of history of the USSR VI Sokolov and professor of Medieval History DO Kireev died a heroic death.

In May 1942, combined with the philological faculty, but already in the first year after the war is restored as an independent in the composition of 2 groups (Russian and Kazakh) with the number of students in 50 people (Dean - Shaposhnikov GA).

In the 1947-1948 academic year, the Faculty of History was made more than 100 people. Organizers and leaders of the faculty were senior lecturer AA King, associate professor DO Medvedev, who since its inception read the course of history of the USSR.

A.A.Korolevsky in the history of the faculty was the first of its dean. The oldest faculty members were FO Kuzmin, V.I.Ivakin, NA Pimnev and Ya.S.Feygelson.

In 1953, the Faculty of History was merged with philological and during the years 1953-1975 is a historical department istfilfaka. During this period there was a Department of History, headed by D.O.Medvedev, V.I.Ivakin. From 1956 to 1972 Department trains teachers for schools generalist countryside.

In the late 50s and early 60s is a significant renewal of the teachers of history of the USSR and world history. Joined the ranks of young teachers mainly graduates of the Ural Pedagogical Institute, has received teaching experience in schools.

From 1963 until 1966 the History Department carries out preparation of teachers with additional qualification "methodologist on educational work," was the transition to a profile - history and pedagogy.

Department of History and Pedagogy worked as a part istfilfaka until September 1975. In September 1975, the newly recreated an independent Department of History, which is located in a former elementary school №18. Dean of the Faculty became a lecturer H.Zh.Suyunshaliev.

From September 1972 to train history teachers have been working already worked two departments: the Department of History of the USSR (the head. Kaf.dotsent G.A.Kushaev. P.R.Bukatkin), Department of General History (Head. Cafes. Associate Professor O. Grishina).

70 years on the faculty was an active scientific work on research and study of artefacts from archaeological research related to the names G.A.Kushaeva, B.F.Zhelezchikova, V.A.Krigera. It was equipped with an archeological laboratory, a museum of archeology, which were run conferences on the results of archaeological sites, arranged the exhibition field of archaeological material.


Kushaev GA and BF Zhelezchikov on the archaeological expedition


The head of the archaeological expedition Kushaev GA with students (1988)


Through the work of the scientific archaeological circle passed a generation of students, the whole school was created Ural archaeologists, known far beyond the borders of Kazakhstan. Our students took an active part in regional and all-Union archeological student conferences, whose reports are regularly awarded with diplomas and certificates. In 1975, in the city of Uralsk was conducted archaeological conference of the Ural-Volga region. Article archeology students have been published in several scientific journals, particularly in the "archaeological discoveries" (M.Kovalenko, S.Zhelezchikovoy, S.Zasedatelevoy, G.Kim). 80s can be noted as a stage further comprehensive strengthening and faculty development, professional development staff and its scientific potential. In this decade, there was also a faculty as a department composed of History and Philology, and as an independent structural unit of the Institute (1988).

История факультета

1 сентября 1938 г. в институте был открыт исторический факультет.  В первом 1938-39 учебном году было принято 75 студентов, из них 25 человек в пединститут и 50 человек в учительский институт. Факультет возглавил А.А.Королевский.
В годы Великой Отечественной войны контингент студентов на историческом факультете был значительно сокращен, как и на других факультетах, прием студентов в учительский институт приостановлен на несколько лет. Большинство студентов-мужчин, а также значительная часть студентов- девушек добровольно вступили в ряды Советской Армий и героически сражались на фронтах войны. Студенты Е.М.Павлычев, К.Н. Малыгин и др. пали смертью храбрых в битве под Сталинградом. Из девушек–студенток сражались  на фронтах Великой Отечественной войны Л.Е. Кашина, Г.А.Искакова, В.Ф. Горшкова, И.А.Макатова и другие.
Вместе со студентами в годы войны на фронт ушли большинство преподавателей исторического факультета. Преподаватель истории СССР В.И. Соколов и преподаватель историй средних веков Д.О. Киреев пали смертью храбрых.
В мае 1942 года факультет объединяется с филологическим, но уже в первый послевоенный год восстанавливается как самостоятельный в составе 2-х групп (русская и казахская) с количеством студентов в 50 человек (декан – Шапошников Г.А). 
В 1947-1948 учебном году на исторический факультет было принято более 100 человек. Организаторами и руководителями факультета были старший преподаватель А.А. Королевский, доцент Д.О. Медведев, которые со дня его основания читали курс истории СССР.    
А.А.Королевский в истории факультета остался как первый его декан. Старейшими преподавателями факультета были Ф.О. Кузьмин, В.И.Ивакин, Н.А. Пимнев и Я.С.Фейгельсон.
В 1953 году исторический факультет был объединен с филологическим и в период 1953-1975 годы являлся историческим  отделением истфилфака. В этот период существовала одна кафедра истории, которую возглавляли Д.О.Медведев, В.И.Ивакин. С 1956 года по 1972 год отделение готовило учителей широкого профиля для школ сельской местности.
В конце 50-х и в начале 60-х годов происходит значительное обновление состава преподавателей истории СССР и всеобщей истории. Пополнили ряды молодых преподавателей главным образом выпускники Уральского пединститута, уже получившие опыт преподавательской работы в школах.
С 1963 до 1966 года историческое отделение осуществляло подготовку учителей с дополнительной квалификацией «методист по воспитательной работе», был осуществлен переход на широкий профиль – история и педагогика.
Отделение истории и педагогики работало в составе истфилфака до сентября 1975 года. В сентябре 1975 года вновь воссоздается самостоятельный исторический факультет, который размещается в здании бывшей начальной школы №18. Деканом факультета становится доцент Х.Ж.Суюншалиев.
С сентября 1972 года для подготовки учителей истории уже работали уже работали две кафедры: кафедра истории СССР(зав. каф.доцент Г.А.Кушаев. П.Р.Букаткин), кафедра всеобщей истории (зав. каф. доцент О.И. Гришина).
70-е годы на факультете отмечены активной научной работой по изысканию и изучению памятников материальной культуры в ходе археологических исследований, связанных с именами Г.А.Кушаева, Б.Ф.Железчикова, В.А.Кригера. Была оборудована археологическая лаборатория, создан музей археологии, в котором поводились научные конференции по итогам археологических раскопок, устраивались выставки полевого археологического материала.

Кушаев Г.А. и Железчиков Б.Ф. на археологической экспедиции


Руководитель археологической экспедиции Кушаев Г.А. со студентами (1988 г.)


Через работу в научном археологическом кружке прошло не одно поколение студентов, была создана целая школа уральских археологов, известная далеко за пределами Казахстана. Наши студенты принимали активное участие в региональных и всесоюзных студенческих археологических конференциях, доклады которых систематически отмечались дипломами и грамотами. В 1975 году в городе Уральске была проведена археологическая конференция Урало-Поволжского региона. Статьи студентов-археологов были опубликованы в ряде научных изданий, в частности, в «Археологических открытиях» (М.Коваленко, С.Железчиковой, С.Заседателевой, Г.Ким). 80-е годы можно отметить как этап дальнейшего всестороннего укрепления и развития факультета, повышения профессионального уровня кадрового состава и его научного потенциала.    В это десятилетие факультет существовал и как отделение в составе историко-филологического факультета, и как самостоятельное структурное подразделение института (с 1988 года).